Friday, 1 June 2018

Belfast - Titanic Hull Construction

The two Olympic Class ships, Olympic and Titanic would be built alongside side each other at Harland and Wolf Belfast Shipyard.


The shipyard numbers allocated were Olympic (400) and Titanic (401). Their hulls would be constructed under the giant Arrol Gantries on slipways 2 and 3.

Harland & Wolf Belfast Slipways 2 and 3


The keel of the Olympic as laid on the 16th December 1908 and by the time the Titanic's keel was laid on 31st March 1909 the double bottom was complete.

The keel consisted of steel plates  3.8cm (1.5 ins) thick, reducing to 3.0 cm (1.2 ins) thick at bow and stern. The keel plates were 132 cm (52cms) wide at their broadest point. Below the keel a 50cm (19.5 ins) 7.6 cm (3 ins) slab bar was added for additional protection.

Laying of the Titanic
Once the keel was laid the next stage was the construction of a double bottom, 160 cm (63 ins) deep at the centreline and 190 cm (75 inches) in the area of the Reciprocating Boiler Room.

The inner bottom (Tank Top) extended from the first major watertight bulkhead, A, to 6 metres (20 feet) in front of bulkhead P, the last major watertight bulkhead before the stern. The longitudinal and lateral girders created a series of 44 water tight cells.
 
Titanic's double bottom
On the 10th January 1910 the next stage of Titanic's construction, the assembly of the frame work, commenced. Tree hundred steel ribs were bent to the required shape and lowered individually into place.


Working on the double bottom
Framing the Titanic


Titanic framing in progress
The chairman of the White Star Line, Bruce Ismay visited the Belfast Works to inspect the progress on the construction of the two Olympic Class ships. He and Lord Pirrie would have seen Olympic almost fully plated and Titanic's framing nearing completion.
 
Lord Pirrie and Bruce Ismay Belfast Works 19th March 1910

Titanic framing in progress
By the 9th April 1910 Titanic was fully framed so plating could commence.  

Titanic framed - Olympic plated
 The steel  plates used on the Titanic 's shell were generally 9.1 metres (30 feet) long, 1.8 metres (6 feet) wide, the thickness varying between 2.5 cm (1 inch) and 3.8 cm (1.5 inches) thick. They weighted 2.5 to 3 tons. The largest steel plates were 11 metres (36 feet ) in length and weighed 4.5 tons.
 
Over 2,000 plates would be used for Titanic's outer skin. Three million rivets were used to hold the plates together. The rivets were heated, placed through holes in the steel plates and hammered together. Hydraulic machines were used for riveting, however at the bow and stern there was no room for the machines and riveting was done by hand.
 
Titanic being plated by hydraulic riveting machine
 
Titanic being plated by hand riveting


Titanic plated - Olympic ready to launch
The plating of the Titanic's hull was completed on the 19 October1910. The following day the Olympic was launched.

Launching of the Olympic 20th October 1910

Titanic after launching of the Olympic
Titanic's hull was completed in May 1911. From the laying of the keel to the hull being completed it had taken  792 days,  2 years, 2 months and 1 day.

Titanic prior to its launch

Titanic - Launch day



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


     








Tuesday, 1 May 2018

Belfast - Titanic Launch



On May 31st 1911 Titanic was launched at the Harland and Wolf Shipyard in Belfast.

It had taken 792 days  to complete the construction of her hull, 2 years, 2 months and 1 day after the keel was laid on 31st March 1909. Her sister ship Olympic had been launched 6 months earlier on 20th October 1910. Twenty tons of soft soap and oil had been applied to the slipway to aid the ship to enter the water of the River Lagan.

To witness the launch, dignitaries were invited to view proceedings from a specially constructed grandstand. Amongst those present were JP Morgan, head of the International Mercantile Marine Company (the owners of White Star Line); J Bruce Ismay, Chairman White Star Line; and the Lord Mayor of Belfast. Almost 100 journalists had travelled to Belfast (many on a specially charted steamer, the Duke of Argyll) to record the launch and were provided with a grandstand. A further two grand stands were built for ticket holders who had purchased their places, the funds going to local Belfast Hospitals. 
 

Just after noon a red signal rocket was fired and red flags raised to signify the launch was imminent. The White Star Line did not go in for ceremony, there would be no naming of the ship, no champagne breaking on the ships bow, and no ceremony. At 12:13 a second red rocket signalled the start of the launch. Lord Pierre, chairman of Harland and Wolf gave the order and the last remaining timber supports were removed and Titanic started to slip into the water. One minute later she was in the River Lagan.



 






River Lagan Belfast into which the Titanic was launched.

Her launch weight was recorded at 24,360-tons. Once launched Titanic was towed to a dry dock to start fitting out.



 
 





******




******

Thursday, 1 December 2016

London - Oceanic House - Maiden Voyage

White Star's London Office , Oceanic House, was situated in Cockspur Street near to Trafalgar Square. Oceanic House was constructed between 1903 and 1906, the prestigious area being the location of rival companies, Cunard, P & O and Hamburg American Line.

Oceanic House 1 Cockspur Street London
Oceanic House White Star Line London Office
Oceanic House White Star Line London Office Ticket Office
Tickets for Titanic's maiden voyage to New York could be purchased at the London Ticket Office. The cost of a Third Class ticket in 1912 was 7 pounds 9 shillings and zero pennies, A skilled mans wage in 1912 was £100. The value of a ticket, £7.45. is equivalent to £594. 95 today.



Oceanic House White Star Line London Office Ticket Office
Titanic Third Class Ticket
Oceanic House in 2019 is a Grade II listed building which was converted into a luxury apartment block in 2017.
Oceanic House 1 Cockspur Street London



Tuesday, 1 December 2015

Titanic Strikes Iceberg

On the evening of 14th April 1912 the RMS Titanic was steaming towards New York. During the day Titanic had received ice warnings from other ships travelling through the area for which the Titanic was bound.  

Titanic steams toward New York on evening 14th April 1912
Shortly before 11:40 pm Ships Time 14th April 1912 the lookouts on board Titanic spotted an iceberg directly in front of the ship. 
Titanic steams towards the Iceberg
Lookout Frederick Fleet rang the warning bell three times and rang the bridge to warn of the danger. First Officer William Murdoch ordered the helmsman to turn hard to starboard, a manoeuvre that caused a glancing collision with the iceberg causing a hole in the side of Titanic.
Titanic's lookout spot the Iceberg

Titanic manoeuvres to avoid the Iceberg
Titanic strikes the Iceberg
The iceberg had struck below the waterline puncturing the hull, inflicting what was to become a fatal blow. Titanic would sink 2 hours 40 minutes later.  

Iceberg strikes Titanic's hull below the waterline
Iceberg strikes Titanic's hull below the waterline